For some obvious reasons, farewells are always associated with sadness. But while the old saying suggests that all things come to an end, the FAME outgoing president is confident that great things are ahead with the new FAME leadership.

Capt. Emmanuel L. Regio, delivered his final speech as FAME president during the Filipino Association for Mariners’ Employment, Inc.’s (FAME) Annual General Membership Meeting & Election of Board of Officers for the year 2015-2017 which was held on 25 November 2015 at the Le Salon of New World Manila Bay Hotel, Manila, Philippines. And though Capt. Regio was seen smiling the whole time after telling a story which according to him was his way of “breaking the ice”, his valedictory speech was rather emotional yet ambitious.

He then humbly took pride in reporting the accomplishments of the association during his two-year term. “In the past two years, radical change in the manning industry has transpired and the FAME has been at the brave forefront and deep in the trenches in continuously fighting for the growth and development of the Philippine maritime industry”, the president continued. Honestly, those two years were game-changers for the Philippine maritime industry. Needless to say, the Republic Act No. 10635 or the law establishing the MARINA as the Single Maritime Administration in the Philippines and the coming into force of the STCW Manila Amendment and Maritime Labor Convention of 2006 which set new benchmark for the local maritime industry to ensure compliance to the global maritime standards were being implemented.


FAME maintained close coordination with the government and other industry organizations to ensure that the best interest of the members, seafarers, stakeholders and the whole maritime industry are met. In fact, several maritime bills including the Magna Carta of Filipino Seafarers, Seafarers Protection Act  also known as Anti - Ambulance Chasing Act  and the Proposed Guidelines for 3rd Party Medical Arbitration (3rd Doctor) have been proposed and now awaiting for final approval. The ESCROW Bill however has already been filed and was suggested for further discussions.

FAME also actively participated and contributed to the issues concerning the TESDA regulations on ship catering services, the implementation of the Integration of International Passenger Service Charge (IPSC), review and assessment of the MLC 2006 as well as the recommendation of a separate PDOS for seafarers. In addition to that, FAME also engaged in various industry-initiated undertakings such as the Philippine Manning Convention 2015 (PhilManCon) which was a follow up to the historical PhilManCon which was first held in 2007, the JMG Joint Forum, the JMG-MARINA Info-Series Seminar on STCW 2010 Manila Amendments: MARINA Implementation, the JMG ASEAN Integration 2015 and the Maritime Industry: A Policy Forum, JMG Donation Drive for Yolanda Victims, “legalization” of the deployment of Filipino armed guards on board ships, development and launching of new JMG mobile applications (Marino and Jobs Marino Go) and the discussions as to how to rectify the adverse findings of the EMSA Audit of 2013. And if that’s not enough, FAME has also sponsored the publication of an Open Letter to all stakeholders of the Philippine Maritime Industry calling for a united stand behind the notable efforts and changes being spearheaded by the Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) and its indomitable administrator Dr. Maximo Mejia, Jr.

In those two years, FAME likewise celebrated the decade anniversary of the FAME Golf Invitational Tournament and FAME Inter-Manning Badminton Tournament which are now in its 11th and 10th edition respectively, while FAME Fun Run is running for its decade mark next year. On another note, FAME proudly welcomed two new regular members into its circle. It was also during this momentous period that FAME has celebrated its 40 years of excellence in the Philippine manning industry.

And with his final words, Capt. Regio poured his heart in expressing his gratitude to the persons whom he acknowledged of making his term memorable and enjoyable, and for “getting in the wheelbarrow”, even though they didn’t have to  - just like the “The Great Zumbrati” in his earlier story.

The occasion was also attended by Mr. George Hoyt who presented an “I am Seafarer Mosaic” enjoining the local maritime to participate in the IMO venture.Ms. Carmen Rebusi, the FAME treasurer, as well reported the financial statement of the association for the year 2014-2015, which according to the treasurer was stable.

The FAME Annual General Membership Meeting & Election of Board of Officers for the year 2015-2017 may have staged the curtain call for Capt. Regio’s leadership but it also opened new doors for new perspective and hopeful vision of the future management which will continue the brilliance that was commenced by Capt. Regio’s term. 

Here are the top 15 elected Board of Officers for 2015-2017:

1)                 JOSE ALBAR G. KATO                                                                                54
                     Albar Shipping & Trading Corporation                                          
2)                 ERICSON M. MARQUEZ                                                                             53
                     Virjen Shipping Corporation
3)                 JOSEPHINE J. FRANCISCO                                                                      53
                    NYK-FIL Ship Management Inc.
4)                 ENGR. SAMMUEL T. LIM                                                                            52
                     Great Southern Maritime Services Corporation
5)                 CAPT. EMMANUEL L. REGIO                                                                    49
                     Island Overseas Transport Corporation
6)                 CAPT. RONALDO SJ. ENRILE                                                                  48
                     Philippine Transmarine Carriers Inc.
7)                 MARLON R. ROÑO                                                                                      47
                     Magsaysay Maritime Corporation
8)                 CAPT. TEODORO B. QUIJANO                                                                 44
                     Barko International Inc.
9)                 MICHAEL J. ESTANIEL                                                                               43
                     Trans-Global Maritime Agency Inc.
10)               CAPT. GAUDENCIO C. MORALES                                                          39
                     Astra Marine International Inc.
11)               CAPT. REYNALDO D. CASAREO                                                            34
                     Cargo Safeway Inc.
12)               CARMEN B. REBUSI                                                                                 33
                     IMS Philippines Maritime Corp.
13)               ENGR. ELMER A. PULUMBARIT                                                             30
                     Pacific Ocean Manning Inc.
14)               CAPT. VICTOR S. DEL PRADO                                                               29
                     Klaveness Maritime Agency Inc.
15)               ATTY. RODELLO B. ORTIZ                                                                       26
                     Stolt-Nielsen Philippines Inc.
A total of seventy (70) regular FAME members casted their votes via electronic electoral procedure. The election of the new FAME officers will be held on 02 December 2015.