Now on its 37th year, FAME held its 37th Annual General Membership Meeting and Election of Board of Directors who will lead the Association for another two years - 2012 to 2013 last 23 November 2011 at the Le Salon of Hyatt Hotel & Casino Manila, Philippines.

As practiced, the annual general assembly was highlighted by the conduct of election and the annual reports of the incumbent President and Treasurer.

In his “State of the Association Address”, the outgoing President, Mr. Ericson M. Marquez summarized the accomplishments of the current Board during its two year term and briefly stated the pending projects that need to be continued by the incoming Board. As he narrated the accomplishments, he also expressed his appreciation to his colleagues in the FAME Board and Committees for their hard works, efforts and unwavering support during his term and specially mentioned the general membership for the trust and confidence given to the Board of Directors and Association.

It is worth mentioning from his report the account on FAME’s continuous involvement in the Joint Manning Group as an active member and prime mover in order to realize the JMG’s Roadmap that was adopted in 2007 towards a Vibrant and Sustainable Philippine Manning Industry.

As he ended his speech, Mr. Marquez expressed his confidence for the incoming Board that it will do no less in ensuring that FAME will be in the center of the discussions, deliberations and decisions in policy making in everything that involved the Filipino Manning and Seafaring Industry and thus ensuring that the interest of the members and the Filipino seafarers are fully protected and served.

On his turn, Capt. Emmanuel L. Regio, the Treasurer proudly reported the healthy financial state of the Association which was commended by the Board and the general membership.

After which, the general membership unanimously ratified the actions of the Board of Directors for the past two years and proceeded with the election proper.

Started since 2005, the election was done through automated system under the watch of the Legal Counsel and the Secretariat. The newly elected FAME Board of Directors for the year 2011 to 2013 were ENGR. SAMMUEL T. LIM (Great Southern Maritime Services Corp.), MR. ERICSON M. MARQUEZ (Virjen Shipping Corp.), MS. JOSEPHINE J. FRANCISCO (NYK-Fil Ship Management, Inc.), Mr. MARLON R. ROÑO (Magsaysay Maritime Corp.) CAPT. TEODORO B QUIJANO (Barko International, Inc.), MR. JOSE ALBAR G. KATO (Albar Shipping & Trading Corp.), MR. VICENTE RAYMUNDO P. BRILLANTES (Intermodal Shipping, Inc.), CAPT. EMMANUEL L. REGIO (Island Overseas Transport Corp.), CAPT. HERNANDO S. EUSEBIO (Trans Star Shipping Agency Corp.), CAPT. VICTOR S. DEL PRADO (Klaveness Maritime Agency, Inc.), ATTY. RODELLO B. ORTIZ (Stolt-Nielsen Philippines, Inc. ), CAPT. REYNALDO D. CASAREO (Cargo Safeway, Inc.), RADM. ADONIS B. DONATO (OSM Maritime Services, Inc.), MS. CARMEN B. REBUSI (Pobar Marine Services, Inc.), and MR. MICHAEL J. ESTANIEL (Trans-Global Maritime Agency, Inc.)