The first staging of the FAME Fun Run was borne out of the Association’s desire to promote healthy lifestyle to our Filipino seafarers. With the ever-active Special Projects & Events Committee, the energetic and enthusiastic leadership of Mr. Marlon R. Roño, inspiration and encouragement from Capt. Reynaldo D. Casareo, who is a runner himself and with the help and guidance of the Runners Confederation of the Philippines (RUNCPI), this first FAME Fun Run turned out to be a huge success. 

Close to 3,000 participants from the manning companies, maritime schools, maritime associations, training centers, running clubs, private companies, government offices and individuals participated the event. 

During the awarding ceremony the winners were overjoyed with the awards and prizes prepared for them, as aside from the cash prizes, trophies and medals, give-away items from the sponsors of the event were also added. 

The dynamic lady President, Ms. Josephine Francisco with some Board of Directors like Mr. James E. Nicoll, Engr. Sammuel T. Lim, Capt. Reynaldo D. Casareo; and Committee members like Mr. Nemesio F. Tioco, Ms. Marilyn C. Yu, and Ms. Nancy B. Ebron also graced the event. 

It was great that the event did not only fulfilled the physical fitness advocacy but it gathered together various members of the maritime industry, i.e., seafaring sector, manning agencies, and maritime associations, in jointly welcoming the 2006 National Maritime Week—through a morning of exercise, enjoyment, camaraderie, and show of force and unity. 



Champion - Roger Sendol – UST
2nd Place - Esmeraldo Ondoy - Phil. Army
3rd Place - Roel Ano - Phil. Army
4th Place - Michael Mendoza - AFP Phil. Army
5th Place - Nalynd Mendoza - AFP Phil. Army
6th Place - Marlon Calledo - Fort Strider
7th Place - Vincent Requenco - City Runner, Sta. Rosa
8th Place - Chad Patrick Yambao - City Runner, Sta. Rosa
9th Place - Jessie Marce - City Runner, Sta. Rosa
10th Place - Elmer Yambao City - Runner, Sta. Rosa 


Champion - Barcena, Nhe - Ann UST
2nd Place - Race Number 1929 
3rd Place - Malcamae Taciat - CRCSRV 4th Place - Hazel Ena Drivida - Sta, Rosa
5th Place - Jamela Suitan - DNHS Running Club
6th Place - Michell Gayoba - City Runner Sta. Rosa
7th Place - Rachel Purisima - Marikina River Park
8th Place - Leigh Ann Nuguid - Intel Tech. Phil.
9th Place - Yona Bragado - Caloocan Runner
10th Place - Honey Mendoza - Philippine Transmarine Carriers Inc. 


Champion - Geraldo Sabal - U.E.
2nd PLace - Alejandro Ben - UST
3rd Place - Jujet De Asis - Phil. Army
4th Place - Johny España - UST
5th Place - Roland Piamonte - Phil. Army Team
6th Place - Aljean Diente - U.E.
7th Place - Ralph Anthony Servidad - Bamboo Running Club
8th Place - Wenchell Placencia
9th Place - Christopher Molinas 
10th Place - Reynald Nollasca - Runners Plus 


Champion - Emma Magango - U.E.
2nd Place - Bernardita Magaso - UST
3rd Place - Susan Gutierrez - Direct Link Runners Club
4th Place - Adjenie De Los Santos - UST
5th Place - Corazon Salcedo - La Salle Das Mariñas
6th Place - Jessica Marce - City Runners Club, Sta. Rosa
7th Place - Jhana Marce - City Runners Club, Sta. Rosa
8th Place - Fe Grace Dumandan - Direct Link Runners Club
9th Place - Rea Pico - Bamboo Runners Club
10th Place - Kristen Lafferty - Procter & Gamble Phils 


Champion - Cresenciano Sabal - Phil. Army
2nd Place - Bernardo, Desamito - SeaPower
3rd Place - Bilivar Alquin - La Salle Dasma
4th Place - Elmer Sabal - Philippine Army
5th Place - Mamerto Corpuz - AFP Army
6th Place - Reynaldo Delos Reyes
7th Place - Anthony Dizon - Runners Plus
8th Place - Ramie Lacson - Direct Link Runners Club
9th Place - Joewe Bandoy - Mariners Running Club
10th Place - Enrico Cablao 


Champion - Joan Banayag 
2nd Place - Aileen Tolentino - La Salle Dasma
3rd Place - Maricel Marilaw - U.E. Red 
Warriors 4th Place - Liza Yambao - Sta. Rosa Running Club
5th Place - Cinderela Agana - DNHS Running Club
6th Place - Claridad Allen Dechoso - Seapower
7th Place - Ellen Tolentino - La Salle Dasma
8th Place - Mary Grace Cruz - Marikina Running Club
9th Place - Genevieve Dela Peña - Direct Link
10th Place - Mila Robiso Paje - Runners Plus 


• Magsaysay Maritime Corporation

• Mariners’ Running Club 

• Mr. Jesus Cano – Direct Link Runners Club 

And indeed, the success of this project was made possible due to the support of our partners and supporters who unceasingly extended their hand to the activities of the Association. 


Over-All Sponsor:

• Smart Link Satellite Services 

Major Sponsors:

• Nestle Philippines / MILO
• Procter and Gamble Philippines
• Burlington Philippines 

Minor Sponsors: 

• Philippine Seafarers Union 
• Cargo Safeway Inc. 
• PNTC Colleges 
• Bright Maritime Corporation 
• Far East Maritime Foundation 
• Security Bank 

Patron Sponsor

• Barko International, Inc.
• Master and Mates Association of the Philippines 
• New Simulator of the Philippines 
• Parola Maritime Agency, Inc.
• Phil. Merchant Marine Academy Alumni Association 

Other Sponsors: 

• Coca Cola Beverages 
• Philippine Airlines 
• NYK-FIL Ship Management, Inc.
• Magsaysay Maritime Corporation 
• Magsaysay Employees Crew and Allotees Development Cooperative (MECADEC)
• Ventis Maritime Corporation 
• Aboitiz / Jebsens Maritime Inc. 

Sponsors – Medical Assistance 

• Supercare Medical Clinic 
• Sagrada Corazon Medical Clinic 
• Physician Diagnostic Medical Services Inc.
• American Out Patient Clinic 

Special Thanks to: 

• Manila Mayor Lito Atienza and Mr. Ali Atienza of Manila Sports Council 
• Traffic Management Manila/ Traffic Engineering Division – Port Area Station 
• Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA)
• Department of Public Works & Highways (DPWH) 
• Running Confederation of the Philippines (RUNCPI)
• Philippine Amateur Track and Field Association (PATAFA) 

Congratulations to everyone who have been part of this event and let us continue running the race for a healthier maritime industry!