Indeed, time flies so fast! One of the most imperative events of FAME, the Annual General Membership Meeting and Election of Board of Directors for 2006-2007, was once again held on Friday, 06 October 2006 at the Ballroom II, Hyatt Hotel and Casino Manila, Malate Manila. One Hundred Fourteen (114) members and guests attended the undertaking. 

Honorable Juan Felipe Pitty, Ambassador and Consul General of Panama Embassy was the guest speaker who expressed gratefulness and appreciation to the maritime industry for the special and historic relationship that the Panama shared with the Philippines, which was built on respect, trust, friendship and mutual admiration. He said that the Panama Embassy under his governance is a place that opens to everybody, willing to speak and dialogue with the industry and becomes its joint partner in the development of the Philippine Seafaring community. 

Out of the fifteen-elected Board of Directors of the Association for 2006-2007, there are only two new entrants to the group, Mr. Ericson M. Marquez (Virjen Shipping Corporation) and Mr. Reuben Romero (Southfield Agencies, Inc.). Other elected Board of Directors are Engr. Sammuel T. Lim (Great Maritime Services Corporation), Mr. Marlon R. Roño (Magsaysay Maritime Corporation), Capt. Reynaldo D. Casareo (Cargo Safeway, Inc.), Capt. Teodoro B. Quijano (Barko International, Inc.), Commo. Adonis B. Donato (OSM Maritime Services, Inc.), Capt. Victor S. Del Prado (Klaveness Maritime Agency, Inc.), Mr. Jose Albar G. Kato (Albar Shipping and Trading Corporation), Mr. James E. Nicoll (Philippine Hammonia Ship Agency, Inc.), Capt. Alfonso R. Del Castillo (TSM Shipping Phils., Inc.), Capt. Lou A. Atienza (Eurasian Maritime Corporation), Mr. Vicente F. Aldanese, Jr. (CMS Crew Management Services, Inc.), Mr. Michael J. Estaniel (Trans-Global Maritime Agency), and Capt. Jose M. Mangabat (Blue Manila, Inc.). 

Outgoing president of the Association, Ms. Josephine J. Francisco was actually included in the top fifteen and even bagged the highest vote from the general membership. However, she announced to the general membership that she would neither run for any re-election nor seek for any Board seat. She said, “I believe that for an association to always remain vibrant and effective, there is a need for the changing of the guards at the most appropriate time. It there is fresh leadership; the association can enjoy fresh ideas, new ways of doing things, and enjoy innovations for the better. I believe that for me the most appropriate time to inject new leadership in our association is now.”