The General Membership of the Filipino Association for Mariners’ Employment, Inc. (FAME) has elected its Board of Directors during the association’s annual election held on 22 November 2007 at Pan Pacific Manila. 


The newly elected Board of Directors were Sammuel T. Lim (Great Southern Maritime Corporation), Adonis B. Donato (OSM Maritime Services, Inc.), Teodoro B. Quijano (Barko International, Inc.), Marlon R. Roño (Magsaysay Maritime Corporation), Reynaldo D. Casareo (Cargo Safeway, Inc.), Ericson M. Marquez (Virjen Shipping Corp.), Alfonso R. Del Castillo (Torm Shipping Phils. & TSM Shipping Phils., Inc.), Victor S. Del Prado (Klaveness Maritime Agency, Inc.), Josephine J. Francisco (Dolphin Ship Management, Inc. / NYK-Fil Ship Management, Inc.), Jose Albar G. Kato (Albar Shipping and Trading Corporation), James E. Nicoll (Philippine Hammonia Ship Agency, Inc.), Lou A. Atienza (Euro-Asiatic Shipping, Inc.), Hernando Eusebio (Epic Maritime Personnel, Inc.), Michael J. Estaniel (Trans-Global Maritime Agency, Inc.), and Carla S. Limcaoco (Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc.) 


Of the Board of Directors, the elected officers were: Sammuel T. Lim (President), Marlon R. Roño (Vice-President for Internal Affairs), Jose Albar G. Kato (Vice-President for External Affairs), Ericson M. Marquez (Secretary), and Adonis B. Donato (Treasurer). 


The current president, Engr. Sammuel T. Lim, was again elected as the president of the association. However, there is quite difference this time because he, together with the rest of officers and board of directors, will serve the term of two years as prescribed by the newly approved amended By-Laws of the Association. In his speech, Engr. Lim said he would continue promoting the “transparency and teamwork” to fight the challenges that would come along specifically the continuous increase in the demand for our officers that has given Philippine Seafaring Industry tremendous pressure to produce results compelling us to further improve on our present “officer production supply chain”. He likewise assured that elected Officers and Board of Directors shall be team players to continue the reforms and improvements in the industry. 


The newly elected Officers and Board of Directors were inducted into office last 12 December 2007, during the Joint FAME-INTERMAP-PAMAS-PJMCC Christmas Party and Induction Ceremony at the Summit Hall of the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Pasay City. The occasion was highlighted by the presence of DOLE Secretary Arturo D. Brion as the Guest of Honor cum inducting officer and witnessed by other guests both from the government and private sectors.