The Palmer Course was set once again to host FAME’s biggest sport event of the summer. For two (2) consecutive years now, the Orchard Golf & Country Club, located inAguinaldo Highway, Dasmariñas City Cavite was again chosen as the venue for the 9th FAME Golf Invitational Tournament. The Tournament, held on April 12, 2013, has scored 76 players coming from our golf enthusiast members and friends in the industry all gathered for a friendly-competition and for the spirit of camaraderie.
As the participants checked in for registration, they were immediately greeted by the surprise instant raffle with prizes that included free breakfast in the Golfer’s Lounge, gift certificate, golf ball and umbrella and the FAME souvenir neck-tie. All players got instant prize! Isn’t that fun enough to start the game?
It was a peaceful morning and beautiful scenery but the intensity is just rising up as competition is just getting started.
After a half day showing some exhibition skills and focus on hitting that lifetime goal of striking a Hole in One, which unfortunately we don’t have a winner, exceptional players were proclaimed. The winners emerged.
For the Special Awards: The Low Gross award went to Capt. Banny B. Briones of Multinational Maritime Inc. with gross score of 74 while Mr. Jon Judan of Southfield Agencies, Inc. won the Low Net award with net score of 67. The Longest Drive (“322 Yards off the Tee”) was awarded to Mr. Jon Judan of Southfield Agencies, Inc. The Nearest to the Pin (4 feet & 3 inches to the pin”) trophy was presented to Mr. Honorio B. Casalme of Phil. Transmarine Carriers, Inc. Mr. Mel Rosario ofCargo Safeway, Inc. received the Most Accurate Drive award (“3 feet and 1 inch to the line”) and Mr. Noli Mendoza of Uniship Inc. was named as this year’s Most Promising Player.
For Tournament Winners of the Class A Division: Capt. Tsutomu Harada of Grace Marine and Shipping Corp. was proclaimed the Champion. He was then followed by Mr. Honorio B. Casalme of Phil. Transmarine Carriers, Inc. and C/E Guilbert LLamado of Milmar Crewing, Inc. for the 1st Runner-up and 2nd Runner-up respectively. For the Class B Division:Mr. Yutaka Kikuchi of Phil-Bright Ocean Shipmanagement, Inc. was the recipient of the Champion award. Coming close behind was C/E Efren L. Robles ofASP Crew Management Services Inc. for 1st Runner-up and Capt. Minoru Okada ofGrace Marine and Shipping Corp. as 2nd Runner-up. For the Class C Division: Former FAME president, Mr. Ericson M. Marquez ofVirjen Shipping Corp. held the Champion title. C/E Rogelio B. Sobremonte ofNYK-Fil Ship Management, Inc. came next for the 1st Runner-up award and then followed by Mr. Geronimo F. Caidic of C.F. Sharp Crew Management, Inc. for the 2nd Runner-up award.
For the Tournament Winners of theWomen’s Division:
Ms. Ma. Cristina A. Basilio ofBank of the Philippine Islands showed most woman power by claiming the top award as Champion. Ms. Connie Mamaril ofPhilippine Marine Travel Agents Association was 1st Runner-up and Ms. Carmen B. Rebusi ofIMS Philippines Maritime Corp. held the 2nd Runner-up spot.
For the Tournament Winners of theSponsors and Guests Division:
The Champion title went to Mr. Richard Salcedo ofSmart Communications, Inc. Mr. Jonathan C. Diokno and Mr. Dalmacio D. Martin, both fromBanco De Oro Unibank Inc., took the 1st Runner-up and 2nd-up respectively.
Still unbeatable, the Philippine Team (Mr. Jon Judan ofSouthfield Agancies, Inc, Capt. Banny B. Briones ofMultinational Maritime, Inc., and Mr. Jay Valdez ofITCSI) defended their title as this year’s FAME Ryder Cup Champion. The Japanese Team (Capt. Tsutomu Harada ofGrace Marine and Shipping Corp., Capt. Kiyoshi Oikawa ofMultinational Maritime, Inc., and Capt. Tetsuya Suzuki of IMS Philippines Maritime Corp.) kept their post as 1st Runner-up and the European Team (Mr. Kjell Hjartnes of C.F. Sharp Crew Management, Inc. and Mr. Rene Kruidenier ofJo Tankers Phils., Inc.) retained their spot as 2nd Runner-up.
For the additional side contests for this year’s tournament, the Most Number of Birdies was awarded to Mr. Jon Judan of Southfield Agencies, Inc. while Mr. Jay Valdez of ICTSI held the title of the Most Number of Pars. The 2 on 2 Putts winners were Mr. Jonathan M. Palma ofBibby Ship Management Phils., Inc., Mr. Richard Salcedo ofSmart Communications, Inc. and Mr. Jon Judan ofSouthfield Agencies, Inc.
Our warmest congratulations to the winners!
FAME also acknowledged devoted players who completed four (4) consecutive years of participation in the Association’s annual tournament. Mr. Alex S. Estabillo of Abosta Shipmanagement Corp., Mr. Ernesto Galang of Centennial Transmarine, Inc., Mr. Dever C. Besana of Fair Shipping Corp., Ms. Carmen Rebusi of IMS Philippines Maritime Corp., Mr. Renato Mañago of Intermodal Shipping, Inc., Mr. Ruben Regalado of MST Marine Services (Phils.), Inc., Mr. Honorio Casalme of Phil. Transmarine Carriers, Inc., Capt. Amado Castro, Jr. of Reinier Pacific International Shipping, Inc. and C/E Abiel S. Bugas of Ventis Maritime Corp. were this year’s Hall of Famer awardees.
Adding more excitement to the event was the raffle prizes and simple souvenirs that were given away. For the major raffle prizes which were One (1) unit of Nokia E7 and One (1) unit of Nokia N8 courtesy of SMART Communications Inc., Capt. Kiyoshi Oikawa of Multinational Maritime, Inc. and Mr. Honorio Casalme of Phil. Transmarine Carriers, Inc. were the lucky winners.
This event would not have been a success without the generous support and participation of our sponsors. Special thanks to Banco De Oro Unibank, Inc. for being our partner once again (Over-all Sponsor) for this event, Smart Communications, Inc. for being our Golf Carts Sponsor and for the raffle prizes that they provided, Philippine-Japan Manning Consultative Council, Inc. (PJMCC) for their support as Minor Sponsor and Toyota Otis, Inc. as Hole-in-One Sponsor. We also would like to thank all our Hole Sponsors namely: Abosta Shipmanagement Corp. All Japan Seamen’s Union Manila Welfare Office (Phil.) Corp. (AJSU), Associated Marine Officers & Seamen's Union of the Phils. (AMOSUP), AVOcampo/ATR Kimeng Insurance Broker/Cocolife, Baguio Country Club, C.F. Sharp Crew Management, Inc., Cargo Safeway, Inc., Del Rosario Pandiphil, Inc., Intermodal Shipping, Inc., International Maritime Association of the Philippines (INTERMAP), International Seamen’s Mutual Labor Association (ISLA), Magsaysay Cooperative (MAGCOOP), Mariners' & Allied Transport Employees Union (MATEU), Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific (MAAP), Multinational Maritime Inc./MMSPHIL Maritime Services Inc., NYK-Fil Ship Management, Inc., OSM Maritime Services, Inc., Parola Maritime Agency/Eagle Star Crew Management Corp., Philippine Association of Manning Agencies & Ship Managers, Inc. (PAMAS)/, Philippine Marine Travel Agents Association (PMTAA), Philippine Seafarers Union (PSU)- ITF, Super Care Medical Services Inc., Virjen Shipping Corporation, and Western Shipping Southeast Asia, Inc.
All these would not be possible without the expertise and selfless dedication of the members of the Special Projects and Events Committee: Marlon R. Roño - the Committee Chairman, Engr. Sammuel T. Lim – Co-Chairman, Capt. Banny B. Briones – Golf Committee Chairman, Mr. Alfredo T. Mendoza – Golf Committee Co-Chairman, Mr. Simon Heo and other members of the Committee and the support of the FAME Officers and Board of Directors. Special thanks to Mr. Jonathan M. Palma for making himself available to host the program.
Finally, we would like to thank all the players, guests, and our beloved sponsors for the continuous support and for participating in this year’s tournament. Next year will mark FAME’s 40th (Ruby) Anniversary and also the 10th FAME Golf Invitational Tournament; join us as we witness another milestone celebration of the Association.
Thank you very much and once again our warmest congratulations to all the winners.